CALENDAR

2017-2018 Calendar


AUGUST

 
Sunday, August 13 Parenting Education
Mon-Sat, Aug 14-19 Last Week of 2017 Summer Camp
Sunday, August 20 Nisei Festival & Parade
Mon-Thurs, Aug 28-31 Individually Scheduled Student-Teacher Conferences

SEPTEMBER

 
Friday, September 1 Mars Academy Sunrise
Monday, September 4 Labor Day - NO SCHOOL - Last Day Before Full School Starts
Tuesday, September 5 First Full Day of School for All Students
Operation Backpack
Sunday, September 10 Ethiopian New Year Celebration
Monday, September 11 National Day of Service and Remembrance
Friday, September 15 Alternative Auto Expo
Sunday, September 17 Constitution & Citizenship Day
Monday, September 18 Constitution Writing Project
Director's Dinner
Thurs-Fri, Sep 21-22 Rosh HaShanah - NO SCHOOL
Friday, September 22 Autumnal Equinox Dinner
Sunday, September 24 Parenting Education
Wednesday, September 27 Back-to-School Night
Friday, September 29 Yom Kippur - NO SCHOOL

OCTOBER

 
Monday, October 2 Gandhi's Birthday - NO SCHOOL
Sunday, October 8 Street Festival
Parenting Education
Thursday, October 19 Great California Shakeout
Tuesday, October 24 United Nations Day
Monday, October 30 Fall Farm Gleaning
Tuesday, October 31 Costume Parade

NOVEMBER

 
Saturday, November 11 Honoring Veterans
Sunday, November 12 Parenting Education
Monday, November 20 Thanks Writing
Wednesday, November 22 Festival of the Three Sisters
Thurs-Fri, Nov 23-24 Thanksgiving Break - NO SCHOOL
Friday, November 24 Thanksgiving Giving

DECEMBER

 
Friday, December 8 Toy & Blanket Drive
Thursday, December 14 Fall Research Papers Due
Friday, December 15 Bill of Rights Day
New Year's Celebration
Sunday, December 17 Parenting Education
Sat-Mon, Dec 16-Jan 1 Winter Break - NO SCHOOL

JANUARY

 
Friday, January 12 Kite Crafting
Sunday, January 14 Makar Sankranti
Parenting Education
Monday, January 15 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day - NO SCHOOL
Letter Writing Campaign
Friday, January 26 Whale Watching Cruise & Winter Beach Clean

FEBRUARY

 
Sunday, February 11 Parenting Education
Wednesday, February 14 Retirement Home Visit
Hearty Party
Movie Night for Kids for Parents to Go Out
Saturday, February 17 Golden Dragon Parade
Monday, February 19 Presidents' Day - NO SCHOOL
Presidential Speeches

MARCH

 
Friday, March 2 Seussabration
Thurs-Fri, March 8-9 Natural Products Expo - NO SCHOOL
Wednesday, March 14 Pi Day
Sunday, March 18 Parent Education
Monday, March 19 Organic Equinox Expedition
Tuesday, March 20 Vernal Equinox
Thursday, March 22 Science Fair
Sat-Sun, Mar 24 - Apr 8 Spring Break - NO SCHOOL

APRIL

 
Friday, April 13 Determine Your Destiny Day
Sunday, April 15 Parenting Education
Monday, April 16 Pajama Day
Friday, April 20 Family Fun Run
Thursday, April 26 House of Words

MAY

 
Saturday, May 5 Children's Day Sushi Making & Karaoke Party
Friday, May 18 Spring Research Papers Due
Sunday, May 20 Parenting Education
Friday, May 25 Game Board Day at Children's Home
Monday, May 28 Memorial Day - NO SCHOOL

JUNE

 
Thursday, June 7 Invention Convention
Sunday, June 10 Appreciating Police Officers
Parenting Education
Wednesday, June 13 Good Deeds Day
Thursday, June 14 Flag Day
Friday, June 15 Closing Day
Luau
Mars Academy Sunset
Monday, June 18 Optional Summer Programs Begin

• Birthdays Celebrated Throughout the Year
• Director’s Day to be Announced